Support Dakota Access Pipeline During Critical Review

In February 2022, the U.S. Supreme Court announced it would not hear an appeal to overturn a court-ordered environmental review of the Dakota Access Pipeline. While this is a legal blow to the project, the pipeline will continue to operate while the review is conducted. This followed a ruling on May 21, 2021 by Federal Judge James Boasberg that DAPL could continue operating while the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers conducts review for its Environmental Impact Statement.

The pipeline still needs to undergo the latest of a rigorous series of environmental reviews. Sign our petition below urging the swift approval of remaining permits for DAPL!

RE: Dakota Access Pipeline Project; U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Environmental Impact Statement

Dear Secretary:

I commend Judge Boesberg’s decision to keep the Dakota Access Pipeline (DAPL) operating while the U.S. Army Corps conducts further environmental review, and I urge the swift approval of any additional permits for this critical project.

DAPL is one of the most technologically advanced and safest pipelines ever constructed, surpassing all federal safety requirements. Throughout planning and development, the project adhered to all federal, state and local laws and regulations and was approved by regulatory agencies in all four states where the pipeline operates, in addition to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, who completed more than a year of additional study in August of 2018. It's important to note after that thorough review, the Army Corps found the work substantiated its earlier determination that the pipeline poses “no significant environmental threats.” In total, agencies approved more than 1,000 certificates, permits and approvals for the project. 

The fact that Judge Boesberg and the Army Corps ruled this year against shutting down the pipeline reiterates the trust the project has earned with its commitment to safety, which is also highlighted by the nearly four years of operation without one major incident.

I support the Dakota Access Pipeline for the following key reasons:

  • The Mandan, Hidatsa and Arikara (MHA) Nation, known as the Three Affiliated Tribes, use DAPL to transport more than 60% of the oil they produce. A pipeline shutdown / Bakken production failure would cause significant loss among tribal members;
  • The project has adhered to all federal, state and local laws and regulations, earning more than 1,000 certificates, permits and approvals – approximately one permit or approval for every mile of pipeline – from agencies in all states where it operates;
  • DAPL currently moves over a million barrels of crude oil per day. These shipments would need to be transported by rail or truck – both of which are more costly and environmentally damaging;
  • A DAPL shut down would cost producers up to $5.4 billion the first year of the shutdown, result in up to $1.4 billion in lost tax revenue for local and state governments and eliminate a potential 24,000 jobs, many belonging to Local 798 members.

Project leaders have demonstrated a commitment to transparency in an effort to develop the most responsible pipeline, conducting more than 550 meetings with community leaders, tribes, businesses, agricultural and civic organizations and local elected officials. In North Dakota alone, project leaders made 140 route adjustments during the planning process, including seventeen adjustments that specifically addressed concerns from involved parties.

The Dakota Access Pipeline has undergone a thorough and rigorous regulatory process while maintaining transparency with the public and adhering to all environmental and safety protocols. This is why we commend Judge Boesbberg for standing by the Army Corps’ decision to keep the pipeline operating while they conduct further review and why we support the approval of any additional permits.


Dakota Access Pipeline Project Supporter

865 signatures

See who else has taken this action

  • Stephen DeArmond

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Clark Shaffer

  • Racket Mcguire

  • Jerry Todd Swiney

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Miles Covin

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Nicholas Byley

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Karina Rivera

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Ryan Zoller

  • Parker Hollabaugh

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Deanna Orvis

  • James Melvin

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Michael Parker

  • Brian May

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Clint McKinley

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Lisa Raiburn-Willis

  • Robert Flanary

  • tabitha bruner

  • David Layton

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Mark Hosick

  • Dustin Delsman

  • Jason Harris

  • Patrick Mcconnaughey

  • Andy Davis

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Dave Paulson

  • Austin Severson

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Joel Harris

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Joshua Jones

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Hunter Boyett

    Pipeliners Local 798

  • Randy Feezel

  • William Taylor